STATE BAR0f TEXAS

JURY SERVICE TOOLKIT

FACT SHEET

QUALIFICATIONS FOR JURY SERVICE

You must have the following qualifications:
- Beatleast 18 years of age.

- Beacitizen of the United States.

- Reside in the county of jury service.

- Bequalified to vote in the county of jury service, even
if you are not registered to vote.

- Beable toread and write.
- Be of sound mind and good moral character.
You cannot serve on a jury if:

- You have served as a juror for six days during the
preceding three months in county court or during
the preceding six months in district court.

+ You have been convicted of a felony or of any type
of theft.

+ You are under indictment or criminal charges for a
felony or any type of theft, including being on pretrial
diversion or deferred adjudication.

RESCHEDULING

« You must contact the clerk’s office to reschedule. With

some exceptions, you will be allowed to reschedule once
a year for any reason but subsequent postponements will

be granted for emergencies only.

« You will be allowed to reschedule if the jury service will

include a holy day that you observe.

EXEMPTIONS FROM JURY SERVICE

If you request, you will be excused from jury service if:
-+ You are more than 70 years of age.

- You have legal custody of a child under 12 years of age
and jury service would leave the child unsupervised.

« You are a high school student or you are a college student
actually attending classes.

- You are an officer or employee of the Texas Legislature
or an agency in the legislative branch of government.

« You are the caretaker of someone who is unable to care
for himself or herself.

« You have a physical or mental impairment that makes
itimpossible or very difficult to serve on a jury.

+ You cannot comprehend or communicate in English.

+ You are active duty military deployed away from your
home county.

- You were selected to serve on a jury in the previous two
or three years, depending on the county population.

PENALTIES

If you fail to answer a jury summons or knowingly
provide false information in a request for exemption
or excuse, you may be fined between $100 and $1,000.

- If you are picked for jury service but fail to attend court
without a reasonable excuse or file a false exemption
claim, you may be fined between $100 and $500.

Source: Texas Government Code Chapter 62 (current through 84th Legislative Session, 2015)



